Oh, By The Way…

Let it be known that I have updated the photography section (and the blog for that matter) up to the very second. All slideshows are now available in the drop down menu under photography and you should be able to waste a good amount of time looking at them all. I’m in Budapest right now after a sketchy night train from Venice and so far, I have to say, Budapest is lovely.

Thanks for the pic photo master Kylie

It’s now a bit over halfway past the European section of this walkabout and I have to say it’s gone rather well so far. I am in one piece, not starving, not sick, haven’t had anything stolen, met lots of people and learned more than I could have ever imagined. Most of all, seeing that I’m traveling alone, I have had a large chunk of time to myself. I think that’s an important part to any walkabout and it has, for the most part, done me quite well. No, there haven’t been any epiphanies (not even in St. Peter’s…), nor have I been brought to any sublime state of zen (although I am currently staying in the zen room in my Budapest hostel), but it’s been nice to look back, look at the present, and look towards the future while traveling in truly remarkable places all around Europe. I have to say I am really looking forward to the food in Cyprus and the people in Australia, but I need to try to stay in the moment and enjoy the next month in Europe. I have many people still to visit and I can’t wait to continue on this walkabout.

I realize I am very lucky to have this opportunity and I am doing everything I can to make the most out of it. It is natural to question the purpose of the trip, or whether it was the right decision, and trust me, I have done both, but at the same time I try and appreciate it and be aware of the part of my life I am in right now. I am at a crossroads. I have graduated from school with a degree in a field I never would have imagined myself entering and I sit trying to decide what step I would like to take next. Or, maybe what step I should take next. But if I have learned anything so far it’s that taking life one step at a time will, at the least, keep you moving. Yes, bad things can happen, awkward situations can rear their nasty heads, but just keep walking and it will turn out for the best. Just because you miss a train or don’t have a place to stay doesn’t mean the end of the world. It could be just the opposite. It could be the beginning of something you never could have planned or expected. Plans are comfortable and they do help in many occasions, but not having a plan can work just as well.

As with many things in this world, the options are endless; the perspectives are infinite. Don’t let fear drive you to dark places, but instead let life take you for a ride. Or if you so dare, take life on a ride of your own.

-Phil

One thought on “Oh, By The Way…

Leave a Reply

