Sorrento & Naples

I made it Sorrento and met up with my brother there. Sorrento is about an hours train ride along the coast south of Naples. It’s a beautiful but touristy town. I had to make up for my loss of a birthday dinner so I found what seemed like a promising restaurant on the docks for a fancy lunch. I asked the owner what he recommended and ended up with pasta with a local white fish. When I thought fish in pasta, I figured I’d be getting a fillet or pieces of fish.

Yummy local white fish

However, I got exactly what it said on the menu. A fish. As you can see from the picture, it’s a fish from head to fin (although I had already eaten much of the good part when this photo was taken…). It was delicious and a bit pricey but I think as a belated birthday meal, it went quite well. Plus the view was fantastic.

I walked around Sorrento by myself and with my brother. Both iterations of the walk had its moments and I enjoyed seeing orange and lemon trees everywhere. The weather wasn’t the best either, but altogether, I think Sorrento was pretty nice once you got off the beaten path. The staircases embedded into the cliffs were especially fun.

However, I cannot say the same for Naples. I din’t exactly stay for a long time, but my day trip to Naples was enough for me. I went to the Archeological Museum which was nice enough (and free on the 150 Anniversary for Italia) but the rest of the city I saw was a bit dirty and drab. I never really felt too safe and I don’t know exactly what it was, but Naples just didn’t feel right. I was probably in the wrong areas, so if I ever get back I’ll have to take a real tour or something.

Anyway, on Friday I took my brother’s high school trip’s bus from Naples to Rome and ended up checking into a hostel in Rome until Monday. Rome update to come soon!

-Phil

(P.S. Thanks so much to Mr. Patterson, Mrs. Sweeney and Ms.Wolf for allowing me to tag along in Sorrento and to Roma. You were all wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed freeloading on your trip!)

Not a bad coastline

Leave a Reply

