The Epic Backtrack

Well, my affinity towards not planning has finally caught up with me. As ou may or may not know I came down from Scandinavia stopping in Amsterdam then Brussels then headed to london for a few days. I am now trying to get to Rome for my birthday. Starting in London on Saturday I found out I couldn’t get a ticket to Paris until too late so I’d have to go to Brussels instead. Fine with me. Then I figured I could just go from Brussels to Paris then Milan then Rome. Unfortunately when I got to Brussels this afternoon all night trains from Paris to Milan/Bologna were booked. So instead I now have to take a train from here (Brussels) to Amsterdam (yes, again…) where I then take a night train from Amsterdam Central to Zurich. From Zurich on Tuesday morning (happy birthday me!) I take a train to Milan then from Milan to Rome finally arriving at my destination approximately (Quick math. Started in London at 11am to Brussels at 1:30, from Brussels to Amsterdam between 4:15-7:15, Amsterdam to Zurich from 8:30pm-8:30am, Zurich to Milan then Milan to Rome arriving at 4:45pm) 30hours total including stopovers and then I still have to make it to where my brother is staying in Sorrento. Well, here’s to train travel!!

-Phil

One thought on “The Epic Backtrack

  1. Hi Phil,

    Ah the joys of travel! I miss it so much! Sorrento is one of my FAVORITE places in Italy. It’s absolutely beautiful and quaint.

    If you have a chance, make sure to check out Pompeii, but also the Herculano. This is a smaller town that was also destroyed by Vesuvius, but it was covered in mud rather than ashes, and is much better preserved.

    Happy early birthday!

Leave a Reply

