Red Rocks

Now that we’re back in the U.S. I feel like things aren’t as exciting. So we’ll focus on an event for this post…

From L.A. I moved on to a much more familiar city for me, Boulder, CO. The idea was to stay there a week or so to catch up with friends a bit and go to a concert at the idyllic Red Rocks Amphitheatre about 45min south of Boulder. The specific concert we had tickets to was for a band called Dispatch. It’s a sweet Boston jam band that I hope most of you have heard of. If not, make it happen. Download Spotify and listen to some of their stuff. It’s fantastic.

Red Rocks is basically an amphitheater carved into the side of a mountain. It’s right at the beginning of the Rocky Mountains so if you look closely, you can see Denver in the distant background. The seating area is lined by gigantic steeping relatively smooth rock formations leading to the stage which is backed by more of the relatively smooth, lined clay red rock. The acoustics of the venue are fantastic and Red Rocks has hosted many live recordings because of it.

To be honest, I’m not a big concert guy. I’ve probably been to a total of four or five in my lifetime. But I must encourage anyone and everyone to try and get to Red Rocks at least once. This Dispatch concert was fantastic and not only because of the band. Listening to live music while nestled in nature is a transcendent experience. Check out this video I took http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIuIaivildA to get a feel for the band and the venue. I apologize for the shakiness, but I was pretty zoomed in, not to mention I was at a concert…  Also, the lead guitarist breaks a string near the beginning but it gets replaced almost instantly and they don’t miss a beat. Impressive.

Feel the Rock

After the concert and my stay in Boulder, the walkabout, very sadly, came to an end. I had circumnavigated the globe and had been made better because of it. I returned to the “real” world. Unfortunately, the real world brought me nights like last night when the Red Sox managed to finish off their epic September collapse (you didn’t think you were going to get this post without a mention of it, did you?). [Decided to cut out three paragraph Red Sox rant so as to save you some reading. It may show up later though, when I’m not boiling with anger]

The next few blog posts will try and wrap up this whole trip and put some things in perspective, while also going over highlights, lowlights and potential changes. Thanks again to all of you for reading!

-Phil

One thought on “Red Rocks

Leave a Reply

